Kenny Broberg with Tuscon Symphony Orchestra

Starting on December 02, 2022 7:30 pm
Posted by Lee Clifford
Categories: PianoFest
Tags: Classical

Ankush Kumar Bahl, conductor
Kenny Broberg, piano

William Grant Still: Serenade
George Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

In his TSO debut Ankush Kumar Bahl explores what it means for music to be “American.” William Grant Still’s Serenade and Gershwin’s heavily jazz-influenced Concerto in F, performed by the winner of the 2021 American Pianists Association Awards, lead into the most beloved evocation of America, Dvořák’s “From the New World” Symphony.

Sign up for our Newsletter
Our diverse world shapes our music, the artistic language of our contestants. It delights, informs, and inspires us all. It is in this spirit that the American Pianists Association welcomes people of any race, ethnicity, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, and gender identity, as well as people with disabilities. We commit to learn from diverse talents, ideas, and voices. We pledge to create an environment for our artists, audiences, community partners, board, and staff that is based on the values of diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice. Further, we commit to enacting strategic and annual plans that provide focused, measurable strategies for living out these values every day.